writing

A Century of Science Fiction

Explore a century of science fiction with me, captured in a handful of quotes. What is your favorite SF read?

madgeniusclub

Last week we took a trip through a century of Fantasy stories, exploring the language and writing style as it developed and changed. This week I intend to do the same with Science Fiction. Unlike Fantasy, SF is a relatively modern genre. Science fiction, as a term, evidently appeared for the first time in 1851, in this delightful definition I mean to hold onto.

“Science-Fiction, in which the revealed truths of Science may be given interwoven with a pleasing story which may itself be poetical and true.” – William Wilson

From the beginning, then, Science Fiction was to be about exploring the possibilities of science. Along the way it also became about humanity, or to term it scientifically, anthropology and sociology. I am no collector, merely a reader with an adequately stocked library. Working through my shelves for paper books from which to pull yielded a bare century – I…

View original post 1,397 more words

